top of page

Innovator in Health Awardees 2008 - 2020


CC_honoree headshots.png

Rebekah Gee, MD, MPH, FACOG

Chief Executive Officer of Health Care Services,

LSU Health

John Maraganore, PhD

Chief Executive Officer,


Myechia Minter-Jordan, MD, MBA

President and Chief Executive Officer,

DentaQuest Partnership ​for Oral Health Advancement and Catalyst Institute


Joan Reede, MD, MPH

Dean for Diversity and Community Partnership,

Harvard Medical School


Sonia Vallabh, PhD and Eric Minikel, PhD

Associated Scientists, Prions@Broad,

Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard

Red Sox Foundation

Accepted by Bekah Salwasser, Executive Director


Charlie Baker
Governor of Massachusetts

Patrick Conway, MD, MSc
Former Deputy Administrator for Innovation and Quality

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services;

Incoming President and CEO

Blue Cross and Blue Shield of North Carolina

Jessie Gaeta, MD
Chief Medical Officer

Boston Health Care for the Homeless Program


Henri Termeer
Former Genzyme CEO and leader in lifesciences


Karen DeSalvo, MD, MPH, MSc
Acting Assistant Secretary

U.S. Health and Human Services

Partners In Health
Accepted by Gary Gottlieb, MD

President and CEO


Susan Dentzer
Senior Health Policy Advisor

Robert Wood Johnson Foundation

Harvey V. Fineberg, MD, PhD

Institute of Medicine

The Honorable Deval L. Patrick
Governor of Massachusetts


Donald M. Berwick, MD

Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services

Dean Kamen

DEKA Research and Development Corporation

The Honoroable Thomas M. Menino
Mayor of Boston



Scott Gottlieb

Commissioner of Food and Drugs

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

The Honorable Orrin Hatch

U.S. Senator from Utah

Colleen LaBelle, MSN, RN-BC, CARN

Director, Office Based Addiction Treatment (OBAT) Program, Boston Medical Center

Director, State Technical Assistance Treatment Expansion OBAT

The Honorable Henry Waxman

Chairman, Waxman Strategies

Former U.S. Representative from California


Edward J Benz Jr, MD
Former President and CEO

Dana-Farber Cancer Institute

Diane Rehm

The Diane Rehm Show

Janet Woodcock, MD
Director, the Center for Drug Evaluation and Research

U.S. Food and Drug Administration


Dr. Margaret Hamburg

U.S. Food and Drug Administration

Rebecca Onie
Co-Founder and CEO

Health Leads

James Park
Co-Founder and CEO



Robert J. Beall, PhD
President and Chief Executive Officer

Fibrosis Foundation

The Honorable Regina Benjamin, MD
U.S. Surgeon General

Christine Cassel, MD
President and CEO

American Board of Internal Medicine and

ABIM Foundation

Joseph and Kathy O’Donnell
The Joey Fund

Eric Olson, PhD
Vice President

Vertex Pharmaceuticals


Carolyn Clancy, MD
Director, Agency for Healthcare Research and Quality

Patricia Gabow, MD
CEO Denver Health

Jennie Chin Hansen

American Geriatrics Society

Jamie Heywood
Co-Founder & Chairman


Jack Wennberg, MD
Peggy Y. Thomson Professor (Chair) in the
Evaluative Clinical Sciences

Founder & Director Emeritus, The Dartmouth Institute for Health Policy and Clinical Practice


Christina Economos, PhD
Associate Professor, Tufts University

Principal Investigator, Shape Up Somerville

Atul Gawande, MD
Research Director, Brigham and Women’s Hospital

Staff Writer, The New Yorker

Eric S. Lander, PhD
President and Director

Broad Institute of Harvard and MIT

Barry Zuckerman, MD
Chief of Pediatrics, Boston Medical Center
Founder, Project HEALTH, Medical-Legal Partnership for Children, Reach Out and Read


Jack Connors
Founding Partner and Chairman, Hill Holiday
Chairman, Partners HealthCare

The Honorable Sal DiMasi
Massachusetts House Speaker

Andrew Dreyfus

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation

Paul Guzzi
President and CEO

Greater Boston Chamber of Commerce

Reverend Hurmon Hamilton

Greater Boston Interfaith Organization

The Honorable Edward M. Kennedy
United States Senator

Richard C. Lord
President and CEO

Associated Industries of Massachusetts, Inc.

John McDonough
Executive Director

Health Care for All

The Honorable Richard T. Moore
Massachusetts State Senator

The Honorable Mitt Romney
Governor of Massachusetts

The Honorable Robert Travaglini
Massachusetts Senate President

Nancy Turnbull

Blue Cross Blue Shield of Massachusetts Foundation

The Honorable Patricia Walrath
Massachusetts State Representative

Titles shown above represent affiliations at the time the award was received.

bottom of page